Beaconsfield Park Memorial Gates on the corner of Old Princes Hwy and Beaconsfield Emerald Road were unveiled in January 1939 as a tribute to the soldiers who served in World War One.
The sign and gates have become an iconic symbol of Beaconsfield, but over the years have been moved a number of times, including when the highway was duplicated and it became the vehicular access to the Beaconsfield Park / Reserve at some stage. The sign was eventually attached to star pickets until restoration work took place.
After his sudden passing in 2007, Beaconsfield Progress Association (BPA) vowed to restore the sign and gates to fulfill his wish.
In 2008, BPA was successful in obtaining a Cardinia Shire Heritage Grant to commence the restoration of the sign and Cardinia Shire decided the park which had become very overgrown needed to be renewed, planned and planted. This was done through a Cardinia Shire Contribution and Federal Government Grant.
The four bronze plaques for the Beaconsfield Avenue of Honour list the names of 65 Beaconsfield World War One soldiers. The plaques were installed in 2015 with a Victorian Government and Victorian Veterans Council “Restoring War Memorials Grant”.